Book Number 100

“The Magnificent Ambersons,” Booth Tarkington

Ok, so maybe I should have stuck with the library. But after my initial flash of inspiration I decided not only did I want to read these books, but I wanted to own them too. I pictured an ever growing pile artfully placed in a corner somewhere, a daily reminder of my glorious achievements. Visitors would look on in awe, “you read all those?” they’d ask wide eyed.

My vision seemed to have a lot of second hand books in it, so that’s where I started, at the local second hand book shop. I was realistic too, while I want to read these books in order, I figured copies of number 100 may not be plentifully dispersed across inner sydney, so I thought I’d look for number 99 too. But beyond that, I wasn’t going out of order!

Three local bookshops later and another two that required getting in the car, and I was still empty handed. Though I did have a lovely time drifting through each shop, slightly drooling at what was on offer (even in my low-reading years, I have always loved a book shop).

So much for curling up with number 100 this afternoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment